Welcome to the St Mary's family!

Governing Body Structure

All maintained school Governing Boards must be constituted under the 2012 Constitution Regulations. These regulations provide that the minimum size of a Board of Governors is seven members and include within this:
  • At least two Parent Governors, elected where possible by parents
  • The Headteacher
  • One elected Staff Governor
  • One Local Authority Governor, nominated by the LA
  • Where appropriate, Foundation Governors who are appointed by the Diocese
At St Mary’s our Governing Body is made up of 12 Governors. The Instrument of Government came into effect 7th July 2015.
Our Chair of Governor’s is Lyn Paine and Vice Chair is Brian Boyes

  • Two Parent Governors –   Ez Lucas and Andy Branch
  • One Local Authority Governor – Brian Boyes
  • One Head Teacher – Suzanne Garner
  • One Staff Governor – Karen Bennett
  • Two Foundation Governors – Rev Leila Mather (Ex-Officio), Rev Pene Kennedy
  • Three Co-opted Governors – Lyn Paine, Jackie Dunford and  Mike McMahon
We also have appointed Associate Members – Jane Dixon and Lisa Thornicroft.

The term of office for each Governor is four years. The Diocesan of Salisbury is responsible for appointing Foundation Governors. The vicar at St Mary the Virgin, Charminster shall be a Foundation Governor (Ex-Officio).